There is an active Scrabble Tournament circuit in India. The following tournaments are held by their respective clubs every year. These are rated tournaments which means that player performance at these tournaments is considered in calculating player ratings.

The iGate International Scrabble Tournament. Held mid january every year and scheduled for 15th to 17th January 2011. Top players from all over the World take part in this gruelling tournament vying for a prize purse of approximately $12000.

Chennai: The Chennai Open. Held end March or early April every year. This tournament attracts the cream of Indian players plus seasoned tournament competitors and youg kids too from neighbouring Sri Lanka.

Goa: The Goa Open is held early may each year in charming Goa. The atmosphere can only be described as “serious fun” with player groups wandering off to beach shacks or the casino every evening and then honing up their wits the next morning as they sit down to play.

Mumbai: The biggest of all Indian tournaments, this is the Bayer Indian Nationals held every year. The winner of this tournament is declared National Champion and Indian representatives to the World Scrabble Championships are decided on basis of ratings and results of this tournament.

Pune: Pune returned to the Scrabble tournament circuit in 2008 with the cosy and comfortable Pune Open conducted at the Pune Club. The Pune Scrabble Club has been growing and has been able to attract a number of newbies to the tournament circuit. Look out for the next Pune Open around September 2009.

Hyderabad: The city of Nawabs hosted the Deccan Challenge Scrabble Tournament in November this year. There are two divisions – Seniors and Juniors.

The Deccan Cup 2023

Start date: December 1, 2023
End date: December 3, 2023
Time: 12:00 am - 12:00 am
Location: Hyderabad

Hyderabad is hosting the Deccan Cup 2023 from 1st – 3rd December 2023

Read More

KSSA India Open International Scrabble Championship 2024

Start date: January 25, 2024
End date: January 28, 2024
Time: 12:00 am - 12:00 am
Location: MuSigma, Aviator Building 10th Fl, ITPL, Bengaluru, Karnataka 560066

Jan 25-28 2024, Sponsored by MuSigma

Read More