Capgemini International Scrabble Tournament 2019

Start date: January 10, 2019

End date: January 13, 2019

Location: Capgemini (IGATE) campus in Bangalore

Front Page | new events

Capgemini, in association with Karnataka State Scrabble Association (KSSA), is proud to announce the 15th International Scrabble Tournament to be held in Capgemini (IGATE) campus in Bangalore from January 10 – 13, 2019

Live results

January 10, 11, 12, 13 , 2019 (Division A, Division B, Division C)
January 12 and 13, 2019 (Division D or Newbie Division)

Venue: Capgemini Campus, Bangalore.
Address: 158-162 (P) & 165 – 170(P), EPIP Phase II, Whitefield, Bangalore 560 066.

A Division
1st prize – Rs.3,25,000
2nd prize – Rs.1,60,000
3rd prize – Rs.90,000
4th prize – Rs.45,000
5th prize – Rs.30,000
6th prize – Rs.25,000
7th prize – Rs.20,000
8th prize – Rs.15,000
9th prize – Rs.12,000
10th prize – Rs.10,000

Three ratings band prizes of Rs.2,000 each (slab to be announced later)
Entry fee: US $ 100

B Division (Eligibility-WESPA rating 1399 and below)
1st prize – Rs. 55,000
2nd prize – Rs. 40,000
3rd prize – Rs. 30,000
4th prize – Rs. 25,000
5th prize – Rs. 15,000
6th prize – Rs. 12,000
7th prize – Rs. 8,000
8th prize – Rs. 7,000
9th prize – Rs. 6,000
10th prize – Rs.5,000
Three ratings band prizes of Rs.2,000 each (slab to be announced later)

Entry fee: US $ 50

*Several more exciting special prizes including bingo prizes and spot prizes.

Late Registration: Entries sent in after January 1, 2019, will have to pay Rs.500 extra.

C Division (Eligibility rating 999 and below)

1st prize – Rs. 10,000
2nd prize – Rs. 9,000
3rd prize – Rs. 8,000
4th prize – Rs. 7,000
5th prize – Rs. 6,000
6th prize – Rs. 5,000
7th prize – Rs. 4,000
8th prize – Rs. 3,000

Three ratings band prizes of Rs.2,000 each (slab to be announced later)
Entry Fee: US $ 50

(This division is subject to sufficient registrations or players will be merged with B division)

D Division (Eligibility-Newbies to tournaments)

Prizes to be announced later. (This division is subject to sufficient registrations.)
Entry fee: Rs. 1,000.
Registration: Contact Shubha Shivashankar –

Please note that prize money is subject to tax deduction at source as applicable.

A maximum of 34 games of 50 minutes each will be played over four days (A, B and C divisions).
A maximum of 15 games of 50 minutes each will be played over two days (D/Newbie division)
Word source will be the latest Collins Scrabble Tournament and Club Word List 2015.
Challenge: 5-point penalty per word, the player does not lose turn.

Thursday, January 10, 2019 (Division A, B and C)
8.30- 9 am- Registration
9.00 am – 9.30 am-Inauguration and draw.
9.30 am – First Game
Eight/Nine games to be played during the day.

Games will continue on the subsequent days.

Breakfast, lunch and snacks will be provided on all four days of the tournament.

Entry fee: The tournament is conducted by KSSA who will collect the entry fee. The association promotes competitive scrabble in Karnataka and in association with the Scrabble Association of India the rest of the country as well. Entry fee can be paid on the day of the tournament.
Note: Please remember to get the following details. Winners have to furnish the details as the prize money will be transferred directly to their bank account:
1. Name of the Bank
2. Account Number
3. Name of the beneficiary
4. Bank swift code for wire transfer
5. Email address
6. Your postal address
7. Your telephone number