Category Archives: SAI Announcements

SAI Announcements

Eligibility Criteria for Rating a Tournament

The Scrabble Association of India provides ratings for tournaments across India. We have revised the criteria for rating of tournaments, and host associations/organisers can apply for any tournament to be rated, which meets the following criteria:

– A minimum of 7 games and 12 players
– Tournaments should follow the WESPA rules (ref.
– An experienced Tournament Director who ensures that all WESPA rules are followed
– At least 50% of the players have to be SAI-rated
– All pairings and results to be compiled and provided electronically (e.g., TSH / Au Pair)
– Rating fees to be paid: 1 day- Rs.50, 2days- Rs.100, 3 days – Rs.150, 4 days and above – Rs.250  per player. Note that Rating fees are to be paid for all players in a tournament regardless of whether they are SAI members or not.
– Actual acceptance for a tournament to be rated is at the discretion of the SAI Managing Committee.

Ratings levy

SAI has decided to impose a rating/tournament levy of Rs.100 per player for any SAI-rated tournament. Organisers of fully sponsored tournaments such as iGate/ Bayer Nationals/GAIL, may make contributions over and above this if funds allow, and are urged to continue at the same level they have been contributing in the past. It may be noted that SAI has very limited funding and depends on funding from these tournaments.

Membership fee changes

A couple of announcements following decisions passed in the SAI management committee meeting held in Bangalore 13/1/2017 :

A. Change in Membership Fees:

Criteria for WESPAC 2017 selection

Criteria for qualification for WESPAC (erstwhile WSC) 2017 seats:

Sherwin Rodrigues, Goutham Jayaraman and Ranganathan Chakrav will represent India. India has been allocated 3 seats at the WESPAC in Nairobi, Kenya. We have decided to keep the selection criteria based on the  ratings, which have been well established over the last 9  years: